Follow
Felice

derp.

I'm a prematurely-retired professional video game programmer. I have some health problems that ruin my concentration and keep me from doing the kind of programming people will pay you for. PICO-8 is really nice for me, because the limited scope of the platform tends to keep the scope of problems and solutions limited enough for my limited concentration to cope with. I don't think I'll ever manage to produce a game for PICO-8, but it sure is fun just to play with.

(If I've just handed you some ideas or advice, probably for the fifth time this week, and you're getting sick of my doing that, then I have a couple of things I should say: first of all, you should let me know, because I know unwelcome advice is annoying and I don't want to be annoying; but also, second, try not to be too irritated with me, because giving advice is the only way I still feel like I can be a productive member of the video game developer community. I mean well, I swear.)

Oh, and about the avatar... once upon a time, I chose a nice little image of Miku in glasses for my avatar, purely because it struck me as adorable. However, I kept it because I discovered it helped to identify and keep away those useless people who would judge a book by its cover. This is that avatar, but hand-pixeled into low-res, pico-8 palette format.

Sample code for getting dead coroutine's stack trace
by Felice
SHOW MORE

Yo @zep! I think I had a decent brainwave! And I think it's a good bang-for-buck in terms of using existing functionality to get something really useful.

How hard would it be to add a command to the command prompt that simply does what #include does at runtime, i.e. executes some external PICO-8-compatible Lua in the current runtime environment?

For instance, I could load @Mot's cool variable inspector, which is a live, ephemeral dev/debug tool, without having to cut and paste the code in three parts into the command line manually:

> #include inspector.lua