Follow
gfcarstensen

Software developer by trade. Indie game hobbiest- especially enjoy retro games dating back to VIC-20 and C64, which were my first computers.

SHOW MORE

A quick experimental pixel based platformer. I was inspired by some interesting ascii / 8 bit retro art and thought it would make an interesting game. This is purposefully simple, 2 screens, strange behaviors, and no explanation! The thinking is for the player to figure out the rules (and bend them) of the weird looking 'world' and experiment to figure it out. It does track time, collectibles, and deaths.

I don't think I quite captured the artistic merit of its source inspiration, ended up looking a little more like a platformer level than I wanted, but it was fun trying!

Checkout the original art that led me to create this here: https://twitter.com/LootBndt

Cart #abst_pixl_platform_fm-0 | 2023-03-08 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Good luck!

P#126786 2023-03-08 14:49 ( Edited 2023-03-08 14:49)

SHOW MORE

Arena Shooter

Cart #bosihewisi-1 | 2021-09-29 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Destroy the spawning enemies and defeat the boss at the end of each wave. This is an endless top down arena shooter. It features:

1. Four enemy types and a boss. Each with unique attacks.
  2. Bullet lock controls (hold fire to keep shooting in current direction)
  3. Ghost control - press the other button to ghost through enemies and walls and get a speed boost. Ghosting also reloads.
  4. Defeat the boss at the end of each wave for big scores.
  5. Bottom left shows you wave, and countdown to the boss appearing.
  6. High scores.

Good luck! This started as a bit of an experiment for some control schemes for a platformer...and ended up this. It could use a bit more polish- but for this project, I'm moving on. I might come back to it one day and add a few more boss types and polish.

P#97953 2021-09-29 02:08

SHOW MORE