Follow
chowyunbrent
SHOW MORE

Cart #willo-0 | 2020-10-23 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Skelliwags have taken over the graveyard and its up to Willo to kick them out!

Help little Willo sneak around, go 'woo', blow out candles and get up to all sorts of spooky stealthy fun in this short stealth'n'spook-em-up

Featuring

• 8 action packed graveyards to spook about in
  • MGS style ranking system, can you get all 8 platinum medals?
  • Skelliwags, floating eyeballs, tombstones and occult pentagrams
  • One adorable little ghost, Willo

Game by @danhowardgames

Music and SFX by the outrageously talented @gruber_music

P#83251 2020-10-23 16:57

SHOW MORE

What is it?

Last year I wrote a six-part tutorial series for The MagPi magazine that takes a complete novice all the way from installing PICO-8, to designing a full game with audio and effects, to releasing it on the BBS. The MagPi is a fantastic UK magazine that covers everything Raspberry Pi related and, with unfathomable generosity, makes all their issues available online for free in .pdf form. I post the full collection here now in the hope that they are useful.

Tutorial list

Tutorial 1: Get Started with PICO-8 and Raspberry Pi

Turn your Raspberry Pi into the coolest console around with PICO-8! Play, make, and share 8-bit games
download link

Tutorial 2: Learn Lua with PICO-8

You’ve played other people’s PICO-8 games, now it’s time to make your own! Create a retro space-shooter whilst learning the Lua language
download link

Tutorial 3: Make 8-bit graphics in PICO-8

Develop your pixel-art prowess and learn how to animate sprites with PICO-8. We’ll throw in some cool space explosions along the way
download link

Tutorial 4: Add game music and SFX in PICO-8

Use PICO-8’s built-in synthesizer to create space-age sound effects and get your pulse pounding by composing some bangin’ retro chiptunes
download link

Tutorial 5: Design retro game maps and levels in PICO-8