Follow
Le Dook
Follow

Cart #yuwekogiwu-0 | 2020-07-20 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Opening Note.

For some background, this cart was one of my very first experiences with pico-8 and coding. I started this shortly after @TRASEVOL_DOG 's Tiny Tv Jam. And by god I knew nothing! I had the idea in my mind, but not the skills to produce it. So taking Zep's Collision demo, I set out on my 3 and a half year journey. I can tell you one thing, coding without even knowing how the language works is a frustrating experience. I was, and still am in some ways, a total noob. But I brute forced my way through it, learning from reading through other people's carts, and literally spending days reading the Pico-8 API. I'm proud of what I've achieved, and even though I wanted to complete this before I moved on, I must know when to call it a day.

What's Complete?

Firstly, the big point, the map. I used every single tile available in pico8's map data, creating an intricate city, with varying levels, snaking streets, and lots to get lost in. This is fully complete, and free for you to use in a game if you'd like to. There is also extensive use of sprite flags. One for collision, one for stairs, one for shadows, and then the rest went into making a bridge you could walk under and over (must admit, quite proud of that) Water is animated, and there is also randomly placed items to collect throughout the map.

What didn't get done?

My grand plan for this game was a plethora of side-quests. Ranging from collectathons, to races etc. Something to incentivise exploration and give satisfaction of discovery. However my code was far too headwrecking, and having left it for so long, it was basically foreign work that was not worth the effort.

Footnote.

Many thanks for checking this out, hopefully you enjoy. And hopefully you can look forward to seeing some actual games from me in the future.

-Dook.

P#79692 2020-07-20 21:19