Cart [#42902#] | Copy | Code | 2017-07-30 | Link

- - - ABOUT - - -
So right after I finished my first released game, Messages, I decided that I wanted to try and make an RPG in Pico-8. Well, about a month and a half later, this is what that project became.

This thing barely fits on a cart, using all 8192 tokens, each of the 64 available sounds, and basically all of the sprite and texture data.

Oh, and I did what I could with the soundtrack, but I'm not a musician so I can't promise anything about it's quality.

And if you're interesting in finding out about future projects of mine, you can check out my Twitter: @Jusiv_

- - - BASIC CONTROLS - - -
Menus:

• Up/Down:
    Change Selection
  • Left/Right:
    Change Skill Tab (only in battle)
  • Z/X:
    Choose Selection

Overworld:

• Arrows:
    Move
  • Z/X:
    Interact (when prompted)

If you stand still for a few seconds, you can view your current status.

- - - COMBAT - - -
You have three basic types of skills you can use in combat: Attacks, Spells, and Actions. In order to use a skill, you will have to perform a quick minigame to determine its effectiveness. As you level up, you will unlock more skills.

Attacks and Spells are offensive. The base damage they deal is determined by how well you execute their minigame, but the final damage dealt is also affected by the enemy's defense against the chosen type of skill. Higher-tier Attacks and Spells are more powerful, but also harder to execute.

• To perform an Attack, you will have to stop a series of moving sliders on the highlighted sections using Z/X.
  • To perform a Spell, you will have to quickly sort a series of runes by color (orange or blue). If they're orange, hit Z/Left, and if they're blue hit X/Right.

Actions are defensive, and there are only two available: Flee and Recover. Flee exits a battle (if executed correctly), while Recover restores up to half of your maximum health and can cure status effects (but has a 2 turn cooldown).