Does print() in _update() work?

Hi there! Just purchased PICO-8 and Voxatron last week and I'm trying to recreate some classic pong action as a way of getting familiar with the ins and outs of the scripting environment (this is my first time ever interacting with anything related to Lua). Right now I've got a paddle that responds to up/down keyboard presses and a ball that bounces around the screen and collides with the paddle.

I'm trying to print some debug text at the moment of paddle + ball collision, but my print function appears to be doing nothing.

Here's what my current gameplay looks like:

And here's the code:
(the print function that appears to not be working is in line 53 - i.e. the 3rd line from the bottom)
(unrelated: sure would be nice to have line numbers on code snippets here in the forums!)

ball_x = 64
ball_y = 64
ballspeed_x = 3
ballspeed_y = 2
pad_x = 20
pad_y = 50
pad_w = 4
pad_h = 20

function _draw()
    rectfill(0,0,127,127,5)
    circfill(ball_x,ball_y,2,14)
    rectfill(pad_x, pad_y, pad_x + pad_w, pad_y + pad_h, 10)
end

function _update() 
    moveball()
    updateballcollisions()
    movepaddle()
    updatepaddlecollisions()
end

function moveball()
    ball_x += ballspeed_x
    ball_y += ballspeed_y
end

function updateballcollisions()
    if (ball_x < 0 or ball_x > 127) then
        ballspeed_x *= -1;
    end
    if (ball_y < 0 or ball_y > 127) then
        ballspeed_y *= -1;
    end
end

function movepaddle()
    if btn(2) and pad_y+(pad_h/2) > 0 then
        pad_y -= 4
    end
    if btn(3) and pad_y+(pad_h/2) < 127 then
        pad_y += 4
    end
end

function updatepaddlecollisions()
    pad_top_y = pad_y
    pad_bot_y = pad_top_y + pad_h
    pad_left_x = pad_x
    pad_right_x = pad_left_x + pad_w
    if ((ball_x > pad_left_x) and (ball_x < pad_right_x) and (ball_y > pad_top_y) and (ball_y < pad_bot_y)) then
        ballspeed_x *= -1
        print("paddle collision", 6, 6, 11)
    end
end