Follow
Wafflet

Hello there! My name is Wafflet and welcome to my page! So I'm new to this sort of coding. Been a coder for a bit now and loved the games I've seen on here so why not give it a try! While I am at it, why not tag along anyone who is interested with me. I'll be doing these blogs on what I learn at the end of each week. Want to see a brand new game dev's perspective/upbringing on what he learns and probably gets mad at each week? Then follow!

[ :: Read More :: ]

Starting With Basics:

Right off the bat I got used to the environment. Seeing all the different menus, EVERYTHING IS CAPTIAL, where code goes and general feels. I really do like the aesthetic of the whole environment. Than I began like anyone does with going to YouTube and typing pico 8! Coming from C++ and Java the set up was interesting to learn. _Init, _Update and _Draw are all different functions to put certain other functions in, how crazy! With the tutorials I learned basic of variable setup and making shapes on screen AND MADE MY FIRST PICO 8 PRODUCT! I call it .rainbowshape which just creates a rainbow shape go figure:

<- Wow now that looks cool I think...
✨✨✨✨rainbowshapes✨✨✨✨

Sprites Are Hard

With the basics underway I began tutorials on 2D sprite movement and notice how bad I am at pixel art. Granted I have never done it before but trying to draw a little guy is harder than it seems. I have to think about size and shape? What if I want to make an octopus, how do I do draw that in 8-bit??? BUT with some more practice I actually made a little Link's Awakening prototype.

I think going from the tutorial of one little guy to a whole little link is an improvement in my eyes for only a week!

What the tutorial taught me

What I created using the tutorial

Closing Remarks: