Follow
darkgriffin

I am an independent game developer who pokes pico-8 and now picotron when unity and unreal engine make me angry. I so far seem to make mostly spam, but it's fun, and that's what is really important.

My email is: [email protected]

By day, I work at Moonbow Entertainment LLC with my brother, creating emotional relief through video games. Check us out at https://moonbow-ent.com where we have some free games and are ramping up to make some paid products too!

By night, my madder creations can be found at my personal itch account: https://darkgriffin.itch.io/

SHOW MORE

Cart #55337 | 2018-08-17 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

This was my entry for #LOWRESJAM2018.

I am posting it here to share it with the pico8 community, and effectively "open source" the result. Feel free to remix and poke around. I've had to remove most of the comments to make it fit in the cart limits. But most of the code should be pretty self explanatory, there's nothing super fancy besides the generator and some efficient reuse of "render object" functions under the hood. The cart is nearly full, so you might need to do some serious memory hacking or make some code somehow more efficient in token use to make new AI/features. But graphics and tile layouts are all your playground too.

Since the chunk generators are based on parts of the tileset map data, even a newbie can have fun changing those and playing the results.

Let me know if you remix it into anything awesome, and enjoy! :)

P#55338 2018-08-17 15:24 ( Edited 2018-08-20 14:07)

SHOW MORE

TLDR: This is a very buggy basic implementation of TIM, only not so Incredible since it's totally broken and lacks the game part. So it's mostly about crashing pico with overflowed math using bowling balls that are apparently covered in flubber. :D