Cart #yabadopuwo-2 | 2022-01-08 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Hello there!

Here's my first PICO-8 project, Flap Evolved. It's a really terrible Flappy Bird clone, but it is playable. It was a great project to start my PICO-8 journey out on.

Player Mode (X):
Take control of a really ugly bird and try not to fly into pipes. That's about it. Every 4 pipes passed increases the speed.

Neural Network Mode (Z):
Tired of playing already? Yeah, ditto. Why not watch a population of neural networks evolve over time to learn how to play, instead?
The neural network is pretty basic, but it does support multiple hidden layers and has a basic genetic algorithm included, for all your evolutionary needs.

I'm still learning Lua & PICO-8, but having a blast so far. Thanks for taking the time to read and have a good one!

Cheers,
Taco

v1.1:
-Improved graphics
-Removed jump delay
v1.2:
-Increased jump amount for added difficulty, adjusted "physics"
-Improved game instructions
-NNs now see the_pipe.x
-NNs now see pipe_speed
v1.3:
-2 pipes will now appear on screen at a time, refactored pipe "system"
-Increased starting pipe stats to make it easier at the start
-Every 4 pipes cleared, pip gap becomes smaller, distance between pipes becomes shorter, and the y position jump becomes larger
-Fixed a couple of crash bugs from OOB arrays
-Agents now get additional points from clearing a pipe, instead of just points per frame
-Agents see the closest 2 pipes to them. Pipe x, topY, and bottomY are visible for both pipes
-Increased mutation chance
-Added a fitness graph that shows the average fitness over the last 20 generations

P#104518 2022-01-08 02:29 ( Edited 2022-01-08 23:57)

I didn't read any of the post before starting the cart, so I was really unclear on why Z wasn't doing anything. But now it makes sense - fun idea, and the agents seem to learn quite well! Great cart.