What up fishes!

So, I'm new to Pico (mostly a Unity/C# person) and I've been getting my bearings this last week. I was looking into ways to get more game content out of fewer sprites. The most obvious way seemed to be using the same sprites but changing the colour palette. I did some searching and found a few posts where this came up but the only answer I found was to use pal() which unless I'm missing something, changes the screen palette, which affects every instance of that colour onscreen.

So, below is the solution I landed on. Is there a better way to do this? If so, pls halp.

(I've changed some variable names for clarity, I don't normally label things like this)

--Define a 2D array of colour indexes. C1 is the colour we're swapping, C2 is what we're
--swapping it to.
SecondarySpritePalette={
    {c1=14,c2=11},
    {c1=2,c2=3},
    {c1=10,c2=1},
    {c1=4,c2=5},
    {c1=15,c2=4}
}

--Draw sprite on screen using custom sprite drawing function that takes in the above array.
DrawSprite(SpriteID, XPos, YPos, PaletteArray)

function DrawSprite(n, x, y, c)

--Get position of sprite within the spritesheet.
    local ycell=(flr(n/16))
    local xcell=(n-(16*ycell))

--Loop through each pixel in the sprite.
    for lx=0,7 do
        for ly=0,7 do

--Get the current pixel colour.
            col=sget((xcell*8)+lx,(ycell*8)+ly)

--Loop through each colour in the palette array
            for i in pairs(c) do

--If the current pixel matches C1, swap it for C2 and break
                --out of this loop.
                if col==c[i].c1 then
                    col=c[i].c2
                    break
                end
            end

--Only draw the pixel to screen if it is not 0 (or whatever colour we
            --want to be transparent.
            if not(col==0)then      
                pset(x+lx,y+ly,col)
            end
        end
    end
end

The above code works (see below) but feels a bit... messy.

P#77125 2020-05-24 13:34