Hello, new friends! I discovered Pico-8 a few weeks ago and this is my first post in here!

I'm currently trying to create a framework to manage game state for some future creation, and am hoping to get some feedback on what I've put together so far. Any insight would be greatly appreciated; I'm a web developer and consider myself reasonably proficient in PHP/JS, but this is my first Pico-8 project/first video game/first time working with Lua/first time writing my own FSM ever, so I'm feeling very unsure of myself! I'm looking over it and asking myself questions like; have I over-complicated this? Does the game/level hierarchy make sense? Is it DRY enough? Is there a better way!? etc, etc!

The state hierarchy of the cart looks like this:

App
|_Title Menu State
|_Config Menu State
|_Game State
  |_Init
  |_Running
  | |_Level State
  |   |_Start
  |   |_Running
  |   |_End
  |_Over

So, the first state the app is in is the Title Menu state, where you can either start the game or enter the Config Menu (for picking levels to start on or some other arbitrary config). From either of those, you can enter the Game State. Once we're in the Game State, it initializes, then begins running through the Level States (which just run 3s timers for demo purposes). Each level gets a Start state for saying 'ready, go' or whatever, a Running state for actually playing the game, and an End state for congratulating the player for completing the level or something.

One thing I did which I noticed is different from some of the tutorials I've seen is that I'm calling _init() rather than game_init() or level_init() when I make any state change. I realize this isn't super efficient, but I think it makes sense because any time I make a state change at any level, the program has to flow through the entire FSM hierarchy, which might be easier to debug in the future maybe? Does that make sense, or am I just wasting CPU cycles?