About Me

Hi, my name is Evmank2k, and I am just learning how to make games in Pico-8. I am young (not allowed to share age) and would appreciate any help from expert game makers on how I can make my game better.

Pixel Parkour

Pixel Parkour is my attempt at making a new type of game, where the character is just one pixel, and all the hazards are identified by colors. I like these types of games, as they are quick to play, and allow me to use my imagination to interpret what the colors mean. I have discussed with my Dad, and we both agree that everyone who plays these may see the colors as different to them. For example, for me orange may mean lava, but for someone else, it may mean fire.

How to Play

Simple, you are the peach pixel. Use left and right arrows to move the character left or right. Down arrow digs (if the block can be dug). Up arrow makes your character climb.

Feedback

Please leave your feedback on how I can improve the game. All comments welcome.

Enjoy!

Evman2k

Cart #pixelparkour_cod3-1 | 2020-05-14 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

P#76566 2020-05-14 15:48 ( Edited 2022-01-14 02:54)

It does play incorrectly in the browser. Not my fault. Does anyone know how to fix that?

Edit
Maybe I should have used "btn()" in that cartridge.

Edit number 2
Instead of "btnp()."

Edit number 3
BTN() doesn't work.
Was just updated.

P#76568 2020-05-14 15:52 ( Edited 2020-05-14 16:04)

Hi Evman2k.

Just glancing at the code, looking for where btn() or btnp() could be going wrong for you, here are a couple of thoughts:

Guide order of evaluation with brackets

With the conditions of if statements, it is possible to put brackets around conditions to make them be evaluated together. Then whatever their result is can be evaluated with other conditions outside of the brackets.

So:

if (a and (b or c or d)) then
 --code here
end

... would mean that if any of b or c or d is true, and a is also true, then the condition will evaluate to true.