Why you choosed lua over C or java ?
Is there some other people working with you for voxatron ?
How long have you been working on voxatron ?
How old are you ? What study have you made ?
I am studying in programming: second year. My teacher dumb She gives us paper exams. You think its dumb ?

P#8152 2014-01-08 16:03 ( Edited 2014-01-12 00:24)

Voxatron is written in C, but just the scripting part will be in lua (plus a 'microscripting' layer made out of the trigger style statements that are already in 0.2.9). C happens to be a good language for Voxatron, as I can manually lay the data out in memory and get good caching performance. For most games I don't think language is very important though.

I'm making Voxatron solo. I hired a part-time artist last year to help out with demo levels, but I haven't released any of his work yet! And also I enjoy making demo levels myself, even if it takes a bit longer. The reason for doing it solo is partly to avoid the need for funding and to keep control of the project, but mostly because I love designing every aspect of the game and normally make games this way.

The first playable version was at the end of 2010. I quit my other work in March 2011 to start working on it (mostly) full time. I did a lot of voxel based experiments in the past though -- the first thing that looked kind of like Voxatron was in 2004 and was set in a 64x64x32 volumetric display. It ran too slow at the time so I shelved it.

I'm 36. Released my first indie game in 1993 when I was 15. It was a small puzzle game that I later remade as Neko Puzzle, and sold by mail order on 3.5" floppies in New Zealand. I did computer science and philosophy at university, but learnt a lot more from other programmers, experimentation, and from working for a few years as a graphics programmer writing 3d modelling and painting software (sound familiar?). Even more important is just to enjoy it and keep going.