Hi! a little bit about me. I'm a software engineer turned game developer and I've discovered my love for working under retro limitations. I found pico-8 because I don't have the hardware needed to develop for actual retro consoles yet(will get some in the future) and I only have a 10 y/o workstation with linux loaded on.

as I'm new to pico-8 and frankly, game development as a whole, where would the best place be to ask for help?

most of the things I will ask for help with will probably seem obvious to most people, but seeing as I haven't had a need to use any sort of math except for comparing numbers while developing desktop apps, It's fairly new to me.

that being said, I'm working on a platformer at the moment with a friend, and specifically after adding map collision(using the dx/dy method) and adding gravity, I can't figure out how to jump. below is a cart file if anyone can help me. thanks in advance!

-bella

Cart #platform-0 | 2022-10-03 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

P#118437 2022-10-03 15:55 ( Edited 2022-10-03 15:57)

oh, something not said above is that I have created a couple of games in Unity, so I do have some experience, just not enough I think to create something using a framework or fantasy console.

P#118438 2022-10-03 15:55

Posting here will usually get an answer, with varying degrees of thoroughness depending on who's lurking at the time. There's also a discord, as well as a bunch of youtube tutorials.

Regarding your code, the reason jumping isn't working is because you've got the jump button adding 5 speed in the upward direction while gravity is ensuring that the character's y speed is constantly at the maximum 8 in the downward direction. When I tried pressing jump repeatedly rather than just once, the character went zooming upward.