Cart #47976 | 2018-01-09 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Lyner is my first attempt to dive deeper into pico-8.
I am not a coder, so I'm working within my limitations
and trying to learn Lua, amongst other things.
Improvisation is a great teacher, as are the Picozines :)

This is a rough version, in any aspect, but it should
deliver the idea. I figured getting it out now helps more
than later. Next stop: fix bugs and optimize gameplay.

Appreciate your hints for improvement.

Cheers
Patrick

P#47977 2018-01-09 07:12 ( Edited 2018-01-10 12:34)

I'm feeling unusually energetic, so you'll be my Advice Victim today.

Um, hope something in here is what you were wanting. :)

PICO-8 TIP

Pick a screenshot for your cart that shows the gameplay. Not many people will even click on the thread unless they see some clue of what kind of app you're posting. Even just starting the game and taking a pic immediately would be more intriguing.

Pretend everyone has ADHD on the internet. Because they do. ;) If it's not a bright, sparkly thing, then mos--oh wow, what has Logan Paul done now?

Sorry, got distracted. Where were we?

GAMEPLAY NOTES

Sounds are basic but it's a retro console and that fits, so you're okay there. The relentless UNNT UNNT UNNT would get on my nerves eventually, so I hope you'll do something with that. :)

You need to remember where other obstacles have been placed so you don't place two so close together that the player just says "wtf" and has to crash into one.

Sometimes when you hit an obstacle, it remains and paces you until a new one comes out on the same level. Probably just a missed re-initialization.

Question: What other game mechanics do you plan?

Having the two sides of the ... conveyor belt? ... move at different speeds might be good.