Cart #32754 | 2016-11-25 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Hi! First off - I'm not in any ways a programmer, I'm hacking together bits and pieces of code, and adding/subtracting stuff from Jelpi. It's basically a reskin, with the enemies taken out, the map and sprites redrawn (eventually) and music rewritten (I'm a musician). I know there's a lot of redundant Jelpi code in there but I think I've deleted about as much as I can without breaking everything.

What I want to do is have a text box open at the bottom of the screen when the player presses X beside the horse. A line of text appears in a black box at the bottom of the screen, disappears and then another appears, etc, until the message is completed. The game is part of a Christmas present for my girlfriend who's in her final year of vet, and it's mad stressful for her.

I was thinking to use a sprite flag but I honestly have no idea how.. any help would be hugely appreciated!

P#32755 2016-11-25 12:41 ( Edited 2016-11-27 12:46)

Even triggering a message standing at the horse sprite would work.

I'm trying to bodge together something that checks the player sprite position and triggers text when it's on the horse sprite but so far getting nowhere..

Something like this?

if (pget(pl.x,pl.y)) == 125 then
print("horse",30,30,11)
end

P#32772 2016-11-26 10:31 ( Edited 2016-11-26 15:40)

Within the Jelpi system, you can make the horse an "actor," and extend Jelpi's collide_event() function for the case where the player and horse are colliding. Give the horse a unique "kind ID" (the first argument to make_actor()), and test for its kind in collide_event(). Look for other calls to make_actor() for examples.