Follow
JoVaMi

I make games for you to enjoy

[ :: Read More :: ]

Cart #urlcat-0 | 2023-09-09 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

This is a demo I made as a challenge to create a whole game to fit in Pico 8 Education edition's URL functionality. The whole game fits into (EDIT: THE URL DOESN'T WORK ANYMORE, I'LL FIX IT SOON) this URL. 431 tokens and 1196 total characters, this was hard for me because im still learning new things everyday about pico 8.

Features:

• Smooth Camera (Found it somewhere online, can't find the original. If you can find it telling me qould be greatly appreciated because I want to credit the original creator. )
  • Map to text Compression and vice versa (Also not my code. Couldn't really simplify this by modifying, because I don't understand it.)
  • too many one letter variables (Not really a feature. :/)
  • not perfect collision (It still works, so who's complaining?)
  • 64x64 resolution (Achieved through poke(24364,3))
  • 60 fps (Achieved by using _update60)

Behind the Scenes

Backstory

This game originally was posted on my blog around 2021 called duck game (the original main character was a duck.) and was created through to different templates and some knowledge on how lua works. 95% of the code wasn't mine and I unlisted it only to later delete it, because the collision was messed up and it wasn't really a game. Fast forward to a little over a month ago, i posted my first game Catatac and I remembered about the duck game, and tried to recreate it, BUT I wanted to create all of the code myself and that didn't turn out so well, got stuck on collision again (Curse you, collision!). Here is that project:

Cart #cat_col_broken-0 | 2023-09-09 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA