Cart #onlyalula_isocraft_1-0 | 2023-09-17 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Isocraft

Controls

Arrow Keys - Horizontal Movement
E and D - Vertical Movement
S - Place or destroy selected block
F - Open or close Block Menu
Z - Debug Menu (Coordinates and Name of Block)
X (Hold) - Quit

Description

This game is a very stripped down version of Minecraft, removing everything that is not essential to get to the very core: building. There are no mobs, no survival, not even a player character. Instead you are given 9 blocks, a 20x20x10 area and a few songs to listen to while you create.

Creator's Comment

While it might not be an impressive length for others, this is my first project I've finished after working on it for over a week. I've always struggled with staying on one project for even more than a few days. I came really close to achieving this with my last project, "Ashes", but burnt out at the very tail end of development. For finally achieving this feat, I'd like to thank some of my friends for showing interest in this project and helping me with ideas/bug fixes, especially "Luigi" (not his real name).

The initial spark for this project was a video in my YouTube recommends called "Is 8-bit Minecraft Possible?" (all links mentioned in credits). After watching the video, I came away inspired to try this challenge myself, using my (limited) Pico-8 knowledge. I started by making the tile system and had it working 2 days in. At that point, I had no idea what I wanted this game to be. I initially wanted it to make it a survival game like Minecraft but had no idea how to make mining work as you cannot see your character through blocks in an isometric perspective.