Hello, I am relatively new to Pico-8 (and programming in general) and am trying to create a "Starfield" Effect, as one would see in games like Galaga. I have created a single pixel that travels, but apart from creating many variables and basically duplicating my code, I can't see how I can multiply the pixels. I know there is an easy way, but I have not discovered it. My code is below.

x = 0
y = 0
xthing = false

function _update()
if xthing == false then
 x = rnd(128)
 y = 0
 xthing = true
 end

if xthing == true then
 y = y+1
 end

if y == 128 then
 xthing = false
 end
end

function _draw()
cls()
pset(x,y,7)
end

Thanks =)

P#53370 2018-06-08 01:47 ( Edited 2018-06-09 14:19)

So lua has tables of information that you can create and loop through. You can then add and remove things from the tables. So I'm gonna try rewrite your code for tables (though I'm just on my phone so may not be perfect and the capitalisation is all over the place so you'll have to fix that.)

--empty table for stars
Stars={}

--instead of global decelerations, let's make a function that adds an entry to a table with some inputs
function createStar(X,y)
Star={}
Star.x = x
Atar.y = y
Add(stars,star)
End

Function _init()
--makr a bunch of stars using our new function. I'm using the same inputs you were.
For I=0,8 do
 CreateStar(end(128),0)
End
End

function _update()
--update each star

For star in all(stars) do
 Star.y = star.y+1

if star.y == 128 then
 --maybe do something else in here, could set the star y back to 0, or randomise the X again?
 Star.y=0
 end
End
end

function _draw()
cls()
--draw all stars
For star in all(stars) do
pset(star.x,star.y,7)
End
end

I realise I'm introducing a lot of new concepts - read through the manual for _init, tables and looping functions to get what's going on a little more. Sorry for the terrible formatting! Hope this helps.

P#53372 2018-06-08 02:38 ( Edited 2018-06-08 06:38)