Cart #46571 | 2017-11-22 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

My first cart with PICO-8, Dot Party is a very simplistic implementation of a particle system using OOP techniques. I'm an hobbyist programmer and I've never used Lua before so this was mainly a learning experience figuring out how to make and use "classes" in PICO-8.

I'm not sure if my implementation is the best way (or even good), but here's the breakdown:

dot = {
  x      = 64,
  y      = 64,
  size   = 15,
  shrink = 0.2
}

function dot:new(o)
  local o = o or {}
  setmetatable(o, self)
  self.__index = self
  return o
end

function dot:update()
  self.x -= (self.x-64)/128
  self.y -= (self.y-64)/128
  self.size -= self.shrink
end

function dot:draw()
  circfill(self.x,
           self.y,
           self.size,
           self.size)
end

function dot:exists()
  return self.size > 0
end

This is the "dot" class and its members. It's got a constructor and various functions to update, draw, and return its status.

function spawn_dot(t)
  add(t, dot:new {
    x      = rnd(128),
    y      = rnd(128),
    size   = 1+rnd(15),
    shrink = 0.2+rnd(0.3)
  })
end

function update_all(t)
  local d = {}
  for _,o in pairs(t) do
    if o:exists() then
      o:update()
    else
      add(d, o)
    end
  end
  for _,o in pairs(d) do
    del(t, o)
  end
end

function draw_all(t)
  for _,o in pairs(t) do
    o:draw()
  end
end

Here we have a function that spawns a new dot and functions to update and draw tables of instanced objects. They assume these objects contain certain functions that they call for each.

function _init()
  dots = {}
end

function _update()
  update_all(dots)
  spawn_dot(dots)
end

function _draw()
  cls()
  draw_all(dots)
end

And here's the game loop, which looks nice and neat thanks to our functions.