Cart #feyazidigi-0 | 2022-05-27 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

I followed a tutorial on collision and cant figure out what's going wrong. its also making another player sprite when I go to the top left of the screen. I'm pretty new to coding and just want to find a not too complicated collision system. any help would be appreciated, thanks.

wall=0

function is_tile(tile_type,x,y)
    tile=mget(x,y)
    has_flag=fget(tile,tile_type)
    return has_flag
end

function can_move(x,y)
    return not is_tile(wall,x,y)
end
P#112357 2022-05-27 03:31 ( Edited 2022-05-27 03:35)

It seems that you have these map checks but your not calling them at all.
From what I see your just calling player_move() which moves the player without any of the logic you want.

What I would do is something like:

function player_move()

can_move = fget(p.x/8, p.y/8)~=1

if btn(⬅️) and can_move then
  p.x-=1.5
  p.sprite = 1
  p.flipx = true
  p.flipy = false
 end

if btn(➡️) and can_move then
  p.x+=1.5
  p.sprite = 1
  p.flipx = false
  p.flipy = false
 end

if btn(⬆️) and can_move then
  p.y-=1.5
  p.sprite = 1
  p.flipx = true
  p.flipy = false
 end

if btn(⬇️) and can_move then
  p.y+=1.5
  p.sprite = 1
  p.flipx = false
  p.flipy = true
 end

end

(Though if you wanted to take it a step further or at least what I would do would maybe be:)

function check_coll(p, ox, oy)
 return fget((p.x+ox)/8,(p.y+oy)/8)~=1
end

function player_move()
 p.flipx, p.flipy, p.sprite = false, false, 1

if btn(⬅️) and check_coll(p, -1, 0) then
  p.x-=1.5
  p.flipx = true
 end

if btn(➡️) and check_coll(p, 9, 0) then
  p.x+=1.5
 end

if btn(⬆️) and check_coll(p, 0, -1) then
  p.y-=1.5
  p.flipx = true
 end

if btn(⬇️) and check_coll(p, 0, 9) then
  p.y+=1.5
  p.flipy = true
 end

end

I think looking at other's code is a good idea but make sure when you do you get a firm understanding of it and know how it could fit in to your project. I know that's not a easy thing to do at least for me but ya.