Follow
Paul Knight

Having a bash at coding 30 years after I dabbled on the Vic 20, Spectrum, Atari ST etc... Tried python, but the self contained IDE offered by Pico-8, the retro feel, and imposed limitations are appealing - developing something for this platform will be much more fun, and much, much more achievable! I'm all about learning on lo-fi stuff, and progressing from there, although with the big community that seems to be popping up around Pico-8 development, why would I want to move on!! Fun, Fun, Fun ;-)

[ :: Read More :: ]

Hi,

I love tinkering around in Pico-8, but I'm certainly not a competent programmer and just hack things together using spaghetti code for my own amusement.

In my day job, I work as an innovation manager for a technology company, and we have an internal innovation programme where we fund good ideas from people within the business, which we think will either provide commmercial benefits to the organisation, or provide reputational benefit.

One idea submitted recently was for an app/game to demonstrate "sustainability" (can't really go into more detail here). To test the concept, I knocked up a very crude prototype in Pico-8, which resulted in funding being released to develop a more throrough proof of concept app, using an external developer on iOS.

This was delivered and we are now at the point of deciding upon next steps in its development. Various options have been suggested, ranging from developing the game/app as a full desktop app, continuing development on iPad for iOS, developing for an Android tablet, or producing a web based version. Its all up for grabs.

However, the more I think about it, the more I wonder if developing it using Pico-8 could be an ever better way to go. It would give us Mac OS, Windows and Linux versions, and also offer a web based version so almost anyone, anywhere, on any hardware could also access it. It would really open up the user base.