Hi all, I got inspired to work on a sequel to PICOhaven (tactical card-based RPG-lite) and am about 70% done-- enough that I'm confident I will actually finish and release it (maybe in a few months?)

I wrote music for the original PICOhaven, though I have no particular musical background-- I noodled around on a mini keyboard with minor chords and an arpeggiator to find some ideas I liked, then built a simple version of that in PICO-8, see the cart below.

For the sequel, one idea I had was finding someone who'd be interested in creating a 'remix' or adaptation-- creating their own take on one or both of the theme songs. I'm open-minded about where on the spectrum of "clear remix" to "loosely inspired by" a composition ends up, but I thought the PICOhaven 1 theme songs could provide a useful creative constraint / starting point.

If this sounds interesting, reach out and let's chat, either here in the comments, in DM on the discord, on mastodon, or so on. I'm also very open to critique+tips on the previous music!

This cart contains two theme songs, for reference:

Cart #bakyohw-0 | 2023-09-14 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

(in case it wasn't clear, this will be another free labor-of-love game, and there is no pay involved :)

P#134352 2023-09-14 18:01 ( Edited 2023-09-14 18:10)

I'd be willing to try my hand at a remix, though I don't have much prior compositional knowledge either.
I do have a few questions:

-Should I reserve channels for SFX?
-How many SFX should I reserve?
-I noticed you didn't have any percussion instruments. Is this a purposeful choice that you would want a remix to be consistent with?
-You used a lot of Instrument 5 and 7. Would you want this to be consistent, or at least keeping a very mellow tone?
-Do you have an approximate length you want the songs to be?