Random Talk, Interview With Ericb - Pico-View #4

EricB:
EB = EricB

Marina:@MarinaMakes
M = Marina

Their games:
Into Ruins (click link)

Interview:

M: So, @ericb who are you and why are you on Pico-View?

EB: So Hi, I'm Eric Billingsley. I'm an indie developer based in Canada, and I've worked on games like Tunic and Cuphead, and also my own games like Spring Falls. I started playing around with PICO-8 a few months ago and making Into Ruins, a roguelike. Which is mostly what we are going to talk about I think?

M: Wait, really? You worked on Tunic and Cuphead? Like 100% of my research for this was playing into-ruins.

EB: haha yeah! I was lead programmer for the last 2 years before Cuphead came out, and I did level art and some bug fixing & programming for Tunic. After that came out is when I started experimenting with PICO-8 because I had meant to try it out for a while

M: Nice. Like wow. I def didn't just go brag to all of my friends about who I'm talking to.

EB: haha I'm flattered
I started making games as a kid in the 90s with Klik & Play -- that was really cool because you could put things together really quickly without coding, and it also had some tools built in. In some ways PICO-8 has felt like coming back to that sort of rapid development, except more technical which is fun

M: I started with 2010's Klik: Scratch. But anyways, rogue-likes? When'd you discover them?

EB: hmm that's a good question..
I think I got into roguelikes first through rogueLITES? rogue-like-likes? Specifically the original pixel art version of Spelunky

M: My friend @otto_piramuth and I are huge Spelunky Classic fans.

EB: it's so good!

M: IKR!!

EB: from there I got into the traditional roguelike genre and tried out a bunch of them. I think nethack was the first I tried but I bounced off it pretty fast haha. I've played Rogue and DCSS as well but never really stuck with anything until I found Brogue I've played a lot of Brogue