Hello world,
I'm brand new to coding and Pico 8. I have created a sprite and figured out how to get it to move, and even flip when he changes directions. I have a second sprite that makes it look like he is taking a step.
My main problem is I can't figure out how to get it to swap between these 2 frames when you move him around. Whenever you press up, down, left or right, I want him to take a step (switch between the 2 frames).
Can anyone point me toward a resource to help me figure it out?
Thanks in advance

P#137758 2023-11-22 06:56

Check out @SpaceCat on YouTube. He has videos that break down everything in a wonderful way.

SPACECAT - BASIC ANIMATION

P#137760 2023-11-22 07:26

see that excellent tutorial:
https://www.lexaloffle.com/bbs/?tid=44686

P#137761 2023-11-22 07:27

Option 1

A short and dirty way for me is to just establish a tick-tock variable that you change whenever a global animation timer runs out.
So wherever your timer is,add:

If time()>timer then
 Ticktock=1-Ticktock
End

This allows you to change it for dual frame animations,but you could also write some extra logic for more frames.
And for your "animation" just check wether the direction vector is unequal to a (0,0)

If dir.x!=0 or dir.y!=0 then
 --if direction vector(or your movement speed) is not (0,0), so if your character is moving
 Spr(1+ticktock,p.x,p.y)
Else
 Spr(1,p.x,p.y)
End

Your two animationsprites need to be next to each other for this to work though.
The Ticktock solution can be useful for other things, blinking text etc. But one even shorter that way works with %(Modulo, basically the remainder of a division) and is based on time is this.

Option 2

--if direction vector(or your movement speed) is not (0,0), so if your character is moving
 spr(SPRITE_START_FRAME+flr((time()*ANIMATION_SPEED)%AMOUNT_OF_FRAMES),x,y)
Else
 Spr(SPRITE_IDLE_FRAME,p.x,p.y)
End

You can multiply time() by something to achieve a higher or slower animation speed.