Cart #chastity_checker-0 | 2023-02-18 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

I rewrote my checkerboard demo for the Pico-8 Fantasy Console. This program is amazing. It is probably the closest thing to QBasic which I used to use. However it uses a slightly modified form of Lua that also has graphics commands. In a way it is a lot like using Love2D but I am still quite new to using Pico-8. One of the most notable features is that it has built in ability to record video to a gif file.

Pico-8 is almost like a mini DOS or Linux distribution except that all the programs are written in Lua. It comes with a full manual explaining the features which is available as a text file and also a page on the official website here:

https://www.lexaloffle.com/dl/docs/pico-8_manual.html

I do think that Pico-8 would be a great tool to teach people computer programming for the first time. It would allow learning Lua but also allowing a new person to start with graphics programming.

P#125873 2023-02-15 03:54 ( Edited 2023-02-18 03:14)

Hi @chastitywhiterose:

Not to detract you from your original work, however, this can be a bit smaller. :)

cls()
for i=0,7 do
  for j=0,7 do
    if (j+i)%2==0 then
      rectfill(j*16,i*16,j*16+15,i*16+15,7)
    end
  end
end

Also you can use flip() to give a bit of time back to the CPU and repeat to make loops. _init() _draw() and _update() are not required if you want to get tiny coding.

x=8
repeat
  cls()
  circfill(x,8,7)
  x=x+1
  flip()
until forever

Making use of _init() and _update() are pretty standard programming practices though.

. . .

As for QBasic. I wrote a RPG Maker in that many years ago, QBasic 4.5. Good times, then I went to GFA, Blitz, and finally - here. Although I miss the 1280x720 resolution and 24-bit colors - so I have been programming in Blitz of recent.

P#126015 2023-02-18 04:00 ( Edited 2023-02-18 05:53)