hello everyone, I'm Osis, and I'm new to Pico 8 as well as coding, but when I found some pixel art of some Risk of Rain characters with the Pico 8 palette and most of them being 8 x 8 (a link to their work https://www.reddit.com/r/pico8/comments/mw40ui/risk_of_rain_1_characters_in_pico8_style/ ) I thought that it might be fun to try and make a game, which I have done most of it, the problem is I have a set of animations that should be playing when the player shoots, which at one point worked, however, it now no longer does I have tried going over it many times and still can't find what might be wrong

controls:
Jet pack is Up
Place Turret Is Down
Left Is left
Right Is Right
Z Is Shoot

any help with this problem or anything else you can spot in my code would be very helpful,

here is the problem code:

--

if shooting2 == true and mag >= 1 then
s_timer+=1 --shooting timer

if d == 2.8 and pushing == 0 then
if (s_timer < 4) plr.s=5 spr(6,plr.x+8,plr.y) -- this is here as one spr is more the 8x8
if (s_timer > 6) plr.s=7
if (s_timer > 8) plr.s=8
if (s_timer > 10) plr.s=1 s_timer=0 shooting2=false mag-=1
end

--

note there is this same code copied a few times but just looking for if the player is facing a different way
but even if it was just this bit it should still work I believe.

and here's the cart in full:

Cart #risk_of_rain-0 | 2023-09-24 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

P#134828 2023-09-24 21:32 ( Edited 2023-09-24 21:42)

So, I found a way to fix the issue from experimenting, but I'm not sure what's going on with your code structure. The issue is that the code you're looking at isn't running at all. The end right before that is ending the shot() function. However, pico-8 complains about shot() not being finished if it's just removed, and I'm not sure what block of code is requiring the extra end command. The bug seems to be in the big set of compacted if statements within that function, but your syntax looks correct to me.