Hi,

so the title basically is what I would like to know but to explain some more here are some informations.

I bought and tried myself on Pico-8 and it was the most fun I had with programming so far, as I now needed to actually understand things to get them to work. However I have no computer science background, sometimes struggle with programming math and have not much experience. But I would like to get further into it as a hobby and I just love the idea of virtual consoles/workspaces.

So Picotron is only 12$ so I why shouldn‘t I just buy it and see if it is for me? Well because I would like to know if I have any chance to get somehing done in it. There are no tutorials yet and programming something else than a game seems way harder (for me).

Is Pictron for beginners? Can I learn more about programming with it and will I be able to do some cool stuff atleast if I try?

Thanks in advance and for reading.

P#144461 2024-03-25 20:53 ( Edited 2024-03-25 20:54)

For sure you can. If you already like Pico8 you'll love Picotron. It's still in alpha so it has some bugs you'll have to workaround with, but if you constantly save then you can still get it done. Zep is working on it and updates are coming frequently so with a little bit of patience soon we'll get a stable version of Picotron. I think no alternative will stand a chance in front of stable Picotron. Just follow the new manual Zep made https://www.lexaloffle.com/dl/docs/picotron_manual.html it is easy and you can start working on a project.

P#144464 2024-03-25 21:10 ( Edited 2024-03-25 21:11)

You absolutely don't need a computer science background, and how much math you will need depends entirely on what you choose to write :)
If you just don't give up and always push yourself to learn new concepts even if at first you struggle to understand them, you will eventually find that they're not that hard and you can comfortably write anything you want :)

P#144516 2024-03-26 11:04