Follow
Chronosv2

I'm a visually impaired gamer and aspiring game developer. I started out with QBasic, and have gradually grown to coding with Unity. I've been tinkering with PICO-8 for awhile and decided to start my game development journey over using it. Most of what I've learned is completely self-taught.

[ :: Read More :: ]

Hey there! I wrote a small library to make drawing numbers using sprites quick and easy using the output from string.format.
It can technically be used for non-integer values but any symbol that can't be drawn as a number will just be skipped over and a digit-wide space will be left. I wrote it this way so that you can draw a number with either leading zeroes or leading spaces.

There's also a version that allows you to have leading zeroes displayed as sprites too.

--sprite_num.lua
--[[
Description: Implements a function for drawing numbers out of sprites.
    Useful for non-text numbers, like scores for arcade games.
    Best used with numbers formatted with 'string.format'
Requirements:
    Number sprites need to be stored in contiguous order from 0-9 (0123456789)
Optional:
    A 'const' table containing the following:
    const.sprite_0 : Integer value holding the sprite ID of the 0 digit.
    const.number_width : Integer value holding the width of each number sprite.
    const.lz_sprite : Integer value holding the "Leading Zero" sprite for
        sprite_number_lz
    If the const table isn't used, this function call requires its optional arguments.
Usage: sprite_number(input,x,y,[sprite_0,sprite_w])
       sprite_number_lz(input,x,y,lz_sprite,[sprite_0,sprite_w])
    input : String of numbers.
    x : Integer providing the horizontal location of the top-left pixel of the first digit
    y : Integer providing the vertical location of the top-left pixel of the first digit
    sprite_0 : Integer providing the sprite ID of the 0 digit.
        (Required if not using const.sprite_0, or if using the sprite_w argument)