Follow
jonasan
[ :: Read More :: ]

Hey All,

First post here after recently picking up and playing with pico-8 (humble bundle). It's rather brilliant I have to say!

I have only been playing around with coding for a couple of months and remain very much a novice, and this is my first time using lua with pico-8.

My question is regarding tables of tables (objects I am spawning in my game), and the deletion of those objects...

Let's say we have the following little program which spawns 5 THINGS, gives them unique names, and then adds them to the list a{}. We then delete the item with NAME=3, and then print some output...

a = {}

for i=1,5 do
    local thing = {}
    thing.name = i
    add(a,thing)
end

for thing in all(a) do
 if thing.name == 3 then
  del(a,thing)
 end
end

for thing in all(a) do
 print(thing.name)
end

print("# = "..#a)
print(a[3])

Output is: 1, 2, 4, 5, # = 4, TABLE

This works fine, and is the standard practice I have been using to remove objects from the master table.

However, let's say I already know which item on the main table (a) that I want to delete by its index, say the third item... i.e. a[3]

What I'd like to be able to do is delete that sub-table from the list without iterating through the list a{} to find it (imagine a{} contains lots of objects!), and instead just delete it directly, i.e.

del(a,[3])

but the del() function does not work in this way, so I have been trying to set the sub-table to NIL by its index in the main table a{} i.e....

-- REPLACE THIS
-- for thing in all(a) do
-- if thing.name == 3 then
--  del(a,thing)
-- end
--end

-- WITH
a[3]=NIL

I don't have any idea if this is the right way to approach this, but it has been producing some confusing results....

a[3]=NIL

produces... 1, 2, 4, 5, #=5, NIL

which as far as I can tell means the third item in a{} is now a non-item (NIL) and will not be processed when I iterate through a{}, and the table a{} still has 5 items.