Allow me to preface this by saying that I'm new to Pico-8 and Lua, but have already fallen in love with it. I've already begun following the community on the BBS, subreddit, and Twitter, and I see a lot of questions about how to perform specific tasks that are necessary for almost every game. Anyone who has ever used a game engine previously may have had a lot of the basic things such as controls, animation, collision detection, or even AI handled for them, so they may not know how to roll their own code for such things.

I'm currently working on my first Pico-8 game, and have decided to document the process, and how I personally overcome various problems. Do know that my way is definitely not the only way - there may be solutions that work better, perform better, have smaller token counts, or are more elegant in general. These are just the solutions that I came up with. There isn't really any 'right' or 'wrong' per se, as long as it gets the job done, with the exception of 'lower token count = better' due to the limitations of the system. So, I'm going to try to solve these problems in the smallest possible token count that I can come up with.

Movement:

In almost every game, characters need to be able to move around the map. The most common control systems are 2-way (only up and down or left and right), 4-way (up, down, left, right), and 8-way (4-way + diagonals). Any of these are simple enough to do in Pico-8.

Here is a 2-way control system

function _init()
  player={} -- initialize the player object
  player.speed=1 -- set a property 'speed' to 1 in the player object
  player.x=0 -- set the initial x coordinate
  player.y=0 -- set the initial y coordinate
end

function _update()
  if(btn(0)) player.x-=player.speed -- move left at player.speed
  if(btn(1)) player.x+=player.speed -- move right at player.speed
end

Simple enough. Now 4-way:

function _init()
  player={} -- initialize the player object